I did some volunteering work the other night- at a youth club in the same village as my old school. Ever since I’ve finished school, it’s always felt weird being back in that area. And not in a good-weird sort of way either. To be perfectly honest, it took quite a while for me not to feel slightly sick at the sight of those towering prison-like walls (hey, if I’m gonna give a description, may as well be dramatic lol). I talked a bit about my school days in a previous post, but to sum it up: they weren’t the most awesome of times.

But anyway, volunteering was something that I had wanted to do for quite some time, but it’s only now I’ve gotten around to it. And so what if I could see my school from the venue? I can’t spend the rest of life shivering at the very mention of school.

And ya know what? It was actually pretty good. I’m so glad I did it. It’s funny- when the organisers (some of the nicest people you could meet!) asked me about what I was doing in college… I hadn’t realised I kept grinning the whole time I talked about it. It wasn’t one of those “polite smiles because you have to smile”; I was smiling because I’m genuinely happy.

I never once smiled like that when I talked about school.

When I finally shut up about the wonders of science, they grinned and said “Wow, you really like physics”. All I could do was laugh :)

Sure, school was a pretty crappy time for me, but I got through it. I could spend the rest of my life feeling sorry for myself and lamenting about the awfulness- or I could look back and smile- smile because I got through it and I believe it’s made me a stronger person.

And for the first time, I didn’t look at that building with hatred- I looked at it and felt strangely okay. And I’m actually really looking forward for going back for my next volunteering session. :)

Thanks for reading

-Qcat

