Never doubt the kindness of strangers. I know I had a post not too long ago with the same opening line (and coincidentally a similar title), but it’s true- the kindness of total strangers never ceases to amaze me. I mentioned recently about my new job in college- I’m absolutely loving it, but I had been so nervous starting off since I didn’t know anyone too well and sometimes I find it hard making new friends because I’m naturally a shy and introverted person. But that doesn’t mean I don’t want to make to friends; I’m just so awkward in groups of people that I don’t know- it’s not that I mean to be that way, but it’s just how I am. I’m not sure how obvious my discomfort is when I’m around new people; sometimes I manage to hide it but other times I know it’s as obvious as a neon sign. And it took me a long time to get over this sensation that I wasn’t good enough to have friends and that I didn’t deserve them. But my shyness is something that I’m working on; fair enough, I probably won’t ever be the life of the class party, but I’ve come a long way and that’s something I’m proud of.

But I digress. Today, I happened to run into a few phd students in the physics department. These people don’t have to work with me. They don’t have to be nice to me. They never even have to say hi to me. Because I work so far away from them, I so rarely see people- the idea of people going out of their way to welcome me and make me feel like I’m one of them wasn’t something I had thought too much about since I didn’t think it’d ever happen.

And yet it did. These people today were so wonderful- they made such an effort to get to know me and to show me around. Despite my shyness, I felt like I was one of them after only a few hours.

 I’m not sure if these people know how much sharing their little in-jokes with me or inviting me to meet with them in the tearoom  or introducing me to all the staff members- I’m not sure if they realise how much all that meant to me. I’m not sure they know how much they’ve brightened my days or how much I truly appreciate it. Because I don’t think I’ll ever be find the words for just much grateful I am.

Kindness of strangers never ceases to amaze me. It can be something as simple as making tea for a shy, sometimes clueless girl you’ve never met before in the secret tearoom, and you may think nothing of it. Sometimes you may do things for people and feel they didn’t appreciate you at all and fair enough, some people don’t- but that doesn’t mean others do. Sometimes people are just trying to find the words to say thanks.

And sometimes you’d be amazed at how the littlest of actions can make such a difference in the lives of others.

Thanks for reading

-Qcat    

