Killed two stones with one bird (.. because killing two birds with one stone is too mainstream lol) and faced two fears tonight :) 

Fear 1: Jellyfish

This used to be a pretty big fear for me. I’m not even afraid of being stung- just being around them.. ughhhh… Anyway my hatred of jellyfish has stopped me from going swimming in the past, which is silly because I love swimming and these jellyfish are tiny and they don’t even sting.

Fear 2: Crowds

This one varies in intensity- at best, it’s a mild discomfort. At worst, I’m near panic attack territory. Tonight was worse than usual- I found I was getting unusually anxious and just wanted to crawl up in a corner away from people. I know I haven’t conquered this one outright tonight, but I definitely faced it and I know I can do it again :) My hope is that one day, I won’t have this unease around crowds anymore, so I’m going to keep working on this one:)

How I faced these fears: I went swimming back at the pier- there were jellyfish and there was a huge crowd, but I went out anyway. I kept telling myself I could do it- I could swim with jellyfish; I could swim in front of a big crowd. And I’m so glad I did because the weather is beautiful (I’m not one to exaggerate, but it’s like a hundred degrees Celsius… plus or minus a few degrees;-P) and I had a great time. If I had let my nerves get the better of me, I know I would have regretted it.

I read the book Divergent lately (loved the book- strongly recommend it! If anyone else has read it, I’d love to hear your opinions:D) and the author, Veronica Roth said that the lyrics in an Evanescence song inspired her: “Fear is only in our minds/ Taking over all the time”. It’s true though- a lot of the time, fear is only in our minds. But why should we let it take over? :)

 

Thanks for reading

-Qcat 

