I’m sure you know the feeling: stress. The thing I hate most about it is that so often it can be such a lonely feeling. It can often feel like you’re the only one who’s going through it… least I’ve felt like that. I’d feel like everyone around me would be so relaxed while I’m the only one freaking out about the assignment that’s due tomorrow morning. And all you can think of is being free as well…

     I’ve been under a lot of pressure lately (which is why my posts are more infrequent) and I know how easy it is to feel overwhelmed. So I thought I’d share some tips that help me deal with the stress. Hopefully you might them useful :)

 

1. Breathe

It might sound obvious but really… breathe. Just clear your mind; forget about all the things you have to do and just focus on your breathing. When you’re stressed, your mind becomes clogged so much easier until you can’t think at all. But simple breathing exercises can calm you down enough so you can function again.

 

2. Make a List

List everything you need to do in order of importance. Each time when you complete a task- stroke it off. The sense of accomplishment is truly beautiful.

 

3. Plan

Even if it’s only a rough plan- just try and be realistic about it. Set yourself plenty of goals and strive towards them.

 

4. Take Breaks

Every time you start to feel even slightly panicky- take a break, even if it’s just for five minutes. Then you can return to the work with a fresher mind and suddenly things seem more doable. Oh and chamomile tea is great for stress relief;)

 

5. Reward Yourself

Think of how great you’ll feel when you’re finished. Make a list (probably obvious I’m a list person lol) of all the things you’ll have to look forward to when the pressure is of.

 

6. Don’t think of Failure

Failure is just a word in the dictionary. Don’t think of the consequences of not succeeding- it’ll only add extra pressure which you don’t need.

 

7. Don’t give up

No matter how tempting. You can do this. If you believe you can’t, it’ll become a self-fulfilling prophecy. As they say- “aim for the moon and if you fall, you’ll land among the stars”.

 

8. And don’t forget- Stress is only temporary

Stress won’t last a life time unless you let it.

 

That’s pretty much all I can think off at the moment. Feel free to comment if you have any tips yourself; I’d love to hear them :)

Hope you’re all keeping well anyway. I probably won’t be able to post very often for the next while due to college, but I should be back on track when I get the holidays :)

 

Stay groovy,

Thanks for reading

-Qcat

