When I started this blog in April 2013, my goal was to reform my pessimistic ways and become a happier, better person who was a positive influence in other people’s lives. I began by gradually changing my attitude towards life and aimed to get fit through my fitness challenge. This blog definitely helped me retain positivity and to keep on track with my goals , and the support I got from my readers meant so much to me- whether it was through following, commenting or liking, it was all encouragement and I appreciated it all.

And by August 2013, I felt like a different person. I was fitter, more positive and enthusiastic, ready for whatever life threw at me.

Or so I thought.

When I started back at college, I slowly fell back into my old ways. There were various reasons for this: mostly, the sharp contrast between the relaxed atmosphere of college in summer when I was a big fish in a small pond thriving in my job, and the stress filled life that was final year. I was up every morning at 6am and wouldn’t get home til 8pm most nights, my days filled with assignments and work. And then, just before my exams, a loved one got some bad news and suddenly it felt like I didn’t even care about college anymore. I did badly in my Christmas exams and this put more pressure on me in semester 2 to “redeem myself”. And so the cycle began again for Semester 2.

Of course on hindsight, I handled things very badly. I became obsessed with getting high grades but I put myself under so much pressure that I suffered panic attacks before the smallest of tests. I went weeks doing all-nighters or getting 1 or 2 hours sleep nightly. I made no time for life outside of college; life was college, nothing more. I got used to feeling awful.

When I finished university, I decided it was time to get back on track, to get back to the person I was last summer. But after a… strange summer, my plans were delayed.

Not any more.

I’m putting the past behind me. Final year college was the end of what was an overall good chapter of my life. I’m ready now to begin a new chapter. A happy chapter.

So here are my new goals:

– Start a new fitness challenge (details in my next post!)

– Have a healthier diet (I’m going cold turkey on chocolate and biscuits)

– Improve my skills, especially music, art and computer programming

– Focus on the good things in life

Abraham Lincoln once said “Folks are usually about as happy as they make their minds up to be”. I’m making my mind up to be the happiest I can be. Life can throw all kinds of crap at us, and we can either sink or swim. In final year college, I sank in final year, but this time I’m choosing to swim.

Thanks for reading

-Qcat

