I take comfort in the fact that even if you hit rock bottom, the only way is up. I wasn’t going to post this as I want to focus on positivity on this blog. The reason I am writing though is because when I started this, I wanted to be honest and every now and again I do have setbacks. This week was one of them.

It’d been building up for a while, but this week everything just seemed to accumulate at once… between things that happened at work and outside it… I’d just felt so down. For the first time in weeks, I felt no motivation to do anything. I didn’t want to get out of bed in the mornings. I skipped my morning workouts and my healthy diet went out the window. I actually considered eating raw chicken to make myself sick so I didn’t have to face anyone, which I’ve never been tempted to do before. I felt so empty and worthless… the most depressed I’d felt since secondary school.

It was then that I looked at my hands and realised I was wearing my class ring. Nothing spectacular about it really- just a cheap piece of silver plated jewellery with a Celtic design. Yet it reminded me of something very important. I received the ring when I left that place. It marked the end of a bad time in my life. It reminds me that no matter how low I felt in those days, I got through it. And I’ll get through this too.

The One Ring in Lord of the Rings was capable of a great power. Fair enough, mine doesn’t have control over people (least I don’t think it does) but to me, it’s a powerful symbol that no matter how bad something is, it will pass. Nothing lasts forever- not even the bad times. When I wear my ring, I don’t forget that.

Maybe it sounds weird, but do any of you have an item/symbol that you use similarly? Something that helps get you through tough times or reminds you things get better?

Anyways, I hope you’ve all had a better week than me. Onwards and upwards for next week :)

Thanks for reading

-Qcat