I completed Day 1 of the Cardio, Weights and Abs Challenge. Today’s challenge:

Joanna Soh Weights Training Plan:
Superset 1: Chest Press and Fly
Superset 2: Shoulder Press and Upright Row 
Superset 3: Bicep Curls and Arm Circles
Superset 4: Superman Push Ups and Plank Up-Downs

  • Original Plan: Each superset contains 2 exercises, 10 reps each with no rest within supersets. Each superset is to be repeated for 3 rounds. After the 1st superset is finished, move onto the next superset, with no more than 1 minute rest between supersets.
  • What I did: I used two 1kg weights on each dumbbell (not sure what weight the handle is though), did 10 reps for each exercise and each superset for 2 rounds, rather than 3. For superset 4, I did normal push ups rather than superman push ups, since I couldn’t seem to get my balance right. Hoping to work on this though.

Neila Rey: HIIT
Each round lasted 2 minutes, followed by 1 minute rest. I did 7 rounds, lasting 21 minutes (the last minute being a rest). One Round consisted of:

  • 30 seconds high knees
  • 30 seconds climbers
  • 30 seconds high knees
  • 30 seconds climbers
  • 1 minute rest

Overall
Overall, I’m really happy with today. I’ve always found high knees tough, but I got through the 20 minutes so that feels like an achievement. After the HIIT, I did the weights. Even though I only did 2 rounds of each superset rather than 3, I feel it was a good start to the programme and I’m feeling great. I want to improve over time- get to a stage where I can do the full workout and with heavier weights.  Next week I want to add Neila Rey Total Abs to the challenge too.

Tomorrow doesn’t have a weights workout, but I’ll post about the Neila Rey HIIT aspect anyway. Looking forward to it :D

Thanks for reading

-Qcat