It’s time for a new fitness challenge. When I moved out from home in January, I was determined to stay active. In the mornings, I would do various workouts by Neila Rey and in the evenings,

I’d go to fitness classes in town. I really grew to love this. But last week, I finished work and moved back home. Even though I’m glad to be home home, I want to maintain my fitness rather than slip into bad habits. And I’ve basically got this free month before I head back to college to do what I can.

I got my first taste of weight training in one of those evening classes and was hooked. When I decided to start a new challenge at home, I really wanted to incorporate weights but wasn’t sure how to go about it. After some research, I found a Full Weight Training Plan for Women by Joanna Soh on youtube. The video is brilliant- she demonstrates each exercise and gives a full plan, which is perfect for newbie me. These workouts are scheduled for Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. She also recommends 20-30 mins of cardio with each session.

Which brings me to Neila Rey… ever since finishing her HIIT challenge last November, I really wanted to do another challenge by her. Her 30 Days of Advanced HIIT and Total Abs challenges really appeal to me. I want to use the former as the cardio element of the Weight Training plan, and to do the workouts Monday to Saturday. However, I’m going to modify the workouts such that they fit into 20 minutes. The reason for this is to avoid being overwhelmed or doing too much too fast. I want this to be a long-term set up and to gradually build it up so I can do the full routine :)

So to summarise, here’s the plan:

  • 5 to 10 minute Warm up before each session
  • Joanna Soh Full Weight Training Plan (Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday)
  • Neila Rey 30 Days of Advanced HIIT (though modified to fit into 20 minutes: Monday to Saturday)
  • Neila Rey Total Abs (to start sometime next week: Monday to Saturday
  • Cool Down after each session

I’ve just completed Day 1 of the challenge, but I’ll talk about it in another post :)

So what do you guys think? Any of you interested in doing it or have tried any of the workouts? Let me know in the comments :)

Hope you all enjoyed the bank holiday weekend :)

Thanks for reading

-Qcat